

COURT OF QUEEN'S BENCH OF ALBERTA

NOTICE TO THE PROFESSION AND PUBLIC UPDATE: CHIEF JUSTICE AND ASSOCIATE CHIEF JUSTICES ALLOCATION OF ADMINISTRATIVE RESPONSIBILITIES

With the recent appointment of Justice Kenneth G. Nielsen as an Associate Chief Justice of the Court of Queen's Bench, please be advised that effective July 1, 2019:

- 1. All requests for civil and family case management, expedited hearings, R. 4.10 case conferences and privacy orders in the judicial centres of Calgary, Lethbridge, Medicine Hat and Drumheller are to continue to be directed to the attention of ACJ Rooke.
- 2. All requests for civil and family case management, expedited hearings, R. 4.10 case conferences and privacy orders in the judicial centres of Edmonton (including Hinton), Red Deer and Wetaskiwin are to be directed to the attention of ACJ Nielsen.
- 3. All requests for criminal, civil and family case management, expedited hearings, R 4.10 case conferences and privacy orders in the regional judicial centres of Fort McMurray, Grande Prairie, St. Paul and Peace River/High Level are to continue to be directed to the attention of CJ Moreau.
- 4. While the supervising justices in the residential centres of Lethbridge/Medicine Hat and Red Deer/Wetaskiwin may assign matters listed in paragraphs 2 and 3 to resident justices in these judicial centres, non-resident judge assignments in these judicial centres will be made by the responsible Associate Chief Justice.
- 5. Calgary criminal case management assignments will continue under the supervision of Justice Earl Wilson then will be transferred when he takes supernumerary status in June 2020 to the Calgary Co-Chair of the Criminal Steering Committee, Justice William deWit.
- 6. Edmonton criminal case management assignments will be transferred to the supervision of the Edmonton Co-Chair of the Criminal Steering Committee, Justice Paul Belzil, until March 15th, 2020 when they will be transferred to the supervision of Justice John

Henderson who will be replacing Justice Belzil at that time as Co-Chair of the Criminal Steering Committee.

Mary T. Moreau, Chief Justice

John D. Rooke, Associate Chief Justice

Kenneth G. Nielsen, Associate Chief Justice